OHS PTSA Board

PTSA Board for 2018-19

It’s time to begin planning for next year! If you’ve ever wondered how you could become more involved at the school, please consider volunteering for the PTSA (Parent Teacher Student Association). We need to identify candidates to fill the following roles next year. All jobs are for one year, with a maximum of two consecutive years.

Questions? Please contact Cathy Jaquette at oaktonptsa@gmail.com. Thank you!

President:

  • Schedule and run monthly PTSA meetings and two Board meetings
  • Work with Treasurer on a regular basis to maintain budget and sign checks
  • Make sure entire Board and all committees are running smoothly
  • Serve as point of contact for school community
  • Speak at Back to School Night, Curriculum Night, and first and last staff meetings of the year
  • Work with administrators on student group and teacher grants
  • Update News You Choose and facebook as necessary; provide updated PTSA website content to webmaster

Vice-President:

  • Assist President as needed
  • Write thank you notes
  • Review meeting minutes
  • Serve as point of contact for grocery reward programs
  • Volunteer at Cougar Kick-off, Back-to-School Nights, and Curriculum Night
  • Support committee chairs

Treasurer:

  • Work with President to establish annual budget
  • Write all checks
  • Balance budget on monthly basis and provide updates at all PTSA meetings
  • Submit dues, taxes, and all necessary paperwork
  • Run audit annually
  • Write tax receipts 

Secretary:

  • Take minutes at all PTSA monthly and Board meetings
  • Maintain notebook of By-laws, minutes, budget updates, and agendas
  • Make copies of all necessary documents for meetings

Membership Chair:

  • Create Membership form for use in hard copy and on the PTSA website
  • Track all aspects of Membership registration including dues, donations, and directories
  • Volunteer at Cougar Kick-off, Back-to-School Nights, and Curriculum Night
  • Submit all data as required by National and VA PTA

Financial Assistant:

  • Make all bank deposits of checks and cash
  • Work with Treasurer to relay deposit information 

Hospitality Chair:

  • Organize, plan, and find volunteers for teachers’ Back to School breakfast, teachers’ Back to School Night dinners, Teacher Appreciation Luncheon, and any other similar events

2017 -2018 OHS PTSA Board Contact E-mails
Cathy Jaquette, President     –    president@oaktonhsptsa.org
Debbie Myers, Vice President    –    vicepresident@oaktonhsptsa.org
Raveendra Yerraguntla, Treasurer     –    treasurer@oaktonhsptsa.org
Jay Stein, Financial Assistant – financial@oaktonhsptsa.org
Tina Kenny, Secretary    –    secretary@oaktonhsptsa.org
Jen Stein, Academic Boosters    –    boosters@oaktonhsptsa.org
Sheila Lamb, Membership    –    membership@oaktonhsptsa.org
Yvonne Scotto, Student Directory    –    directory@oaktonhsptsa.org
Ari JonesAll Night Grad    –    allnightgrad@oaktonhsptsa.org
Melissa Leatherman, Hospitality    –    hospitality@oaktonhsptsa.org
Leona Chan, Parent Education Committeeparented@oaktonhsptsa.org
Jennifer Condro, Webmaster    –   webmaster@oaktonhsptsa.org